The judges of the 2014 V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize, Dame Margaret DrabbleTibor Fischer and Helen Oyeyemi, selected Alice Jolly as the winner, for her story Ray the Rottweiler. The runner- up was Esther Woolfson for Eggshells.

Alice received her award of £1,000 at the Tabernacle at an event with A.L. Kennedy on Tuesday 11 November 2014.

For more information about the 2014 winner and runners-up, please download the press release at the bottom of the page.

The winning story will shortly be published by Prospect magazine.

We are grateful to Christopher and Jennie Bland for sponsoring the prize, to ALCS for making the prize-giving event possible,  and to Prospect magazine for publishing the winning entry online.

Related Awards

V. S. Pritchett Short Story Prize

The RSL's annual prize of £1,000, for the best unpublished short story of the year.