We are delighted to announce the £10,000 RSL Christopher Bland Prize to encourage and celebrate older writers.

The Prize will be awarded annually to a writer of fiction or non-fiction, first published aged 50 or over. Sir Christopher Bland’s wife Jennie, their family and many friends are launching with the RSL in his memory – to encourage older writers.

For the inaugural year the judges are:
Gillian Slovo FRSL – novelist, dramatist (Chair)
• Sanjeev Bhaskar OBE – writer, comedian, actor
• Archie Bland – journalist and son of Sir Christopher
Anne Chisholm OBE FRSL – biographer and RSL Vice President

The closing date for entries is Wednesday 12 December 2018. 

Related Awards

RSL Christopher Bland Prize

The £10,000 RSL Christopher Bland Prize is to debut novelists or popular non-fiction writers over 50.