We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2021.

Ruth Gilligan The Butchers (Atlantic Books)
Louise Hare This Lovely City (HQ)
Adam Mars-Jones Box Hill (Fitzcarraldo Editions)
Nina Mingya Powles Magnolia, 木蘭 (Nine Arches Press)
James Rebanks English Pastoral (Allen Lane)
Francesca Wade Square Haunting (Faber & Faber)

Watch our specially commissioned animations, by Pei-Hsin Cho, of the 2021 shortlist:

Please read the press release for further information.

This year’s judges are Lola, Baroness Young of Hornsey (Chair), Helen Mort and Adam Rutherford.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 11 May.

If you have any press enquiries, please contact Kate Hassell, Bread and Butter PR: [email protected]

Related Awards

RSL Ondaatje Prize

This is an annual award of £10,000 for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, evoking the spirit of a place.