We are excited to announce the shortlist for the £10,000 RSL Christopher Bland Prize 2021 for a debut writer of fiction or non-fiction aged 50 or over. This year’s judges are Mary Beard (Chair), Monica AliGeorgia Byng and Ben Hunte. The winner will be announced on Thursday 3 June.

Rosanna Amaka The Book of Echoes (Doubleday)
Richard Atkinson Mr Atkinson’s Rum Contract (4th Estate)
Michael Cashman One of Them (Bloomsbury Publishing)
Louise Fein People Like Us (Head of Zeus)
Pete Paphides Broken Greek (Quercus Non-Fiction)
Marina Wheeler The Lost Homestead (Hodder & Stoughton)

Watch Mary Beard announce the shortlist:

Read the press release for further information.

For further information and press enquiries relating to the RSL Christopher Bland Prize please contact Clair Chamberlain at Bread and Butter PR
[email protected]