We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2021 Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards. Presented for the first time in 2021, the Sky Arts RSL Writers Awards are focused on discovering and nurturing talented emerging writers of colour, working across different literary forms. The scheme was developed in order to counteract the underrepresentation of British writers of colour. Five winners will receive ten mentoring sessions over the course of 12 months with an RSL Fellow writing in their form, as well as two sessions with Sky Arts Ambassador Bernardine Evaristo.

The winners are:

Fiction: Christina Fonthes, mentored by Irenosen Okojie

Non-Fiction: Clementine E Burnley, mentored by Colin Grant

Playwriting: Sarah Isaac, mentored by Roy Williams

Poetry: Pey Oh, mentored by Pascale Petit

Screenwriting: Adiza Shardow, mentored by Tanika Gupta


Shortlisted writers are:

Fiction: Marissa Mireles Hinds, Ioney Smallhorne

Non-Fiction: Emily Abdeni Holman, Omar Khan

Playwriting: Nicole Latchana, Yuyu Wang

Poetry: Joyce Chen, Naush Sabah

Screenwriting: Jessica Benhamou, Luis Hindman


For full information, please see the press release.