We are delighted to announce the longlist for the 2021 V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize:

  • Sophie Baker ‘Clay’
  • Owen Booth ‘Middle-Aged Sex Object’
  • Maureen Cullen ‘The Cailleach of Redgauntlet Close’
  • Rashad Hosein ‘Aji’
  • B Johnson ‘Idolatry’
  • Toby Lloyd ‘Bagatelles’
  • Amanda Mason ‘Three Times, Lefthandwise’
  • Maeve Mulrennan ‘Known To The Gardaí’
  • Emer O’Hanlon ‘Savior Complex’
  • Leeor Ohayon ‘Gahnun on Shabbat’
  • Penny Simpson ‘until your wild world ends’
  • Jacqueline Yallop ‘Dry Stone’

This year’s judges are Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Paul McVeigh and Emma Jane Unsworth.

Looking ahead, we will announce the shortlist on 24 November and the winner on 15 December.

Please read the press release for more information.

We are grateful to ALCS for supporting this year’s Prize and to Prospect magazine online for publishing the winning entry.