We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2021 V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize:

  • Owen Booth ‘Middle-Aged Sex Object’
  • Maureen Cullen ‘The Cailleach of Redgauntlet Close’
  • B Johnson ‘Idolatry’
  • Amanda Mason ‘Three Times, Lefthandwise’
  • Maeve Mulrennan ‘Known To The Gardaí’
  • Leeor Ohayon ‘Gahnun on Shabbat’

This year’s judges are Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Paul McVeigh and Emma Jane Unsworth.

Looking ahead, we will announce the winner on 15 December.

Please read the press release for more information.

We are grateful to ALCS for supporting this year’s Prize and to Prospect magazine online for publishing the winning entry.