We are delighted to announce the winners of the RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for first commissioned works of non-fiction!

  • £10,000 –Tomiwa Owolade – This is Not America (Atlantic Books, 2022)
  • £5,000 – Tom Ireland – The Good Virus (Hodder & Stoughton, 2022)
  • £2,500 – David Veevers – A New History of the World at the Dawn of British Expansion (Penguin Random House/Ebury, 2022)

This year’s Awards were judged by Gwen Adshead, Fiona Boyle and Clive Myrie.

Videos of our three winners finding out that they’ve won and discussing their projects are available to watch on our YouTube channel, with animations courtesy of Josh Saunders.

More information can be found on the press release.

In 2017, the Royal Society of Literature established the annual RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for first-time writers of non-fiction – in perpetuity – thanks to a significant bequest from author and RSL Fellow Giles St Aubyn. We were delighted to introduce a third award of £2,500 in 2020 for the RSL’s 200th birthday. These Awards build on the RSL’s experience of a previous set of non-fiction awards, generously supported by Jerwood Charitable Foundation from 2004 to 2016.

For questions about any of our awards and prizes, please contact Martha Stenhouse, General Manager, [email protected].