The RSL Council, which meets four times a year, plays a pivotal role in the election of new Fellows, plans our programme of events and oversees our schools outreach programme, awards and prizes.

Our Council consists of the following positions and representatives:

HM The Queen Consort

Bernardine Evaristo OBE FRSA FEA

Presidents Emeriti
Sir Michael Holroyd CBE CRSL FRHisS
Colin Thubron CBE CRSL
Marina Warner DBE FBA

Chair of Council
Daljit Nagra MBE

Vice-Chair of Council
Irenosen Okojie MBE

Lisa Appignanesi OBE FRSL
Simon Armitage CBE
Mary Beard DBE FSA FBA
Anne Chisholm OBE
Maureen Duffy, Benson Medallist
Maggie Gee OBE
The Hon Victoria Glendinning CBE
Jackie Kay CBE FRSE
Blake Morrison
Grace Nichols
Sir Philip Pullman CBE CRSL
Elif Shafak
Kamila Shamsie
Colm Tóibín
Claire Tomalin
Jenny Uglow OBE, Benson Medallist

Colin Chisholm, Treasurer
Imtiaz Dharker
Louise Doughty
Inua Ellams
Tessa Hadley
Catherine Johnson
Dr Helen Mort
Daljit Nagra MBE
Susheila Nasta MBE FRSA
Irenosen Okojie MBE
Michèle Roberts
Roger Robinson
Ruth Scurr
Boyd Tonkin

Council members serve for a fixed term of four years; new members are elected by Council when members retire.

We are pleased to hold the Charity Excellence Framework Quality Mark.