The Encore Award

The Encore Award was first presented in 1990 to celebrate the achievement of outstanding second novels. The Award fills a niche in the catalogue of literary prizes. The RSL has administrated the award since 2016.

The Encore Award 2023

Daisy Hildyard is the winner of this year’s Encore Award for Emergency. For full details read the press release.

This year’s judges are Maura Dooley, Daljit Nagra and Nikesh Shukla and the five shortlisted novels were:

Milk Teeth, Jessica Andrews (Sceptre)

Factory Girls, Michelle Gallen (John Murray)

Emergency, Daisy Hildyard (Fitzcarraldo Editions)

Complicit, Winnie M Li (Orion)

Here Again Now, Okechukwu Nzelu (Dialogue Books)

For press enquiries relating to the Encore Award please contact Clair Chamberlain at Bread and Butter PR.

For questions about awards and prizes, please contact Martha Stenhouse.

You can support us and independent bookshops by purchasing shortlisted titles from our store


Past Awards
*Joint winners

2022 Francis Spufford Light Perpetual
2021 Caoilinn Hughes The Wild Laughter
2020 Patrick McGuinness Throw Me to the Wolves
2019 Sally Rooney  Normal People
2018* Andrew Michael Hurley
Lisa McInerney
Devil’s Day
The Blood Miracles
2017 Ian McGuire The North Water
2015 Sunjeev Sahota The Year of the Runaways
2014 Neel Mukherjee The Lives of Others
2013 Evie Wyld All the Birds, Singing
2012 Ned Beauman The Teleportation Accident
2011 Joe Dunthorne Wild Abandon
2010 Adam Foulds The Quickening Maze
2009 Julia Leigh Disquiet
2007 M.J. Hyland Carry Me Down
2005 Nadeem Aslam Maps for Lost Lovers
2004 Michelle de Kretser The Hamilton Case
2003 Jeremy Gavron The Book of Israel
2002 Ali Smith Hotel World
2001 Anne Enright What Are You Like?
2000* John Burnside
Claire Messud
Matt Thorne
Phil Whitaker
The Mercy Boys
The Last Life
Eight Minutes Idle
1999 Christina Koning Undiscovered Country
1998* Alan Warner
Timothy O’Grady
These Demented Lands
I could Read the Sky
1997 David Flusfeder Like Plastic
1996 A.L. Kennedy So I Am Glad
1995 Dermot Healy A Goat’s Song
1994 Amit Chaudhuri Afternoon Raag
1993 Colm Tóibín The Heather Blazing
1992 Iain Sinclair Downriver
1991 Carey Harrison Richard’s Feet
1990* Paul Watkins
Peter Benson
Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn
A Lesser Dependency