Anna Burns

Anna Burns was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2021.

Anna Burns was born in Belfast. Her first book, No Bones, was published by Flamingo and won the Royal Society of Literature’s Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize in 2001. Her second book, Little Constructions, was published by Fourth Estate in 2006. Her third book, Milkman, was published by Faber & Faber in 2018 and won the Man Booker Prize 2018, the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction 2018, The Orwell Prize for Political Fiction 2019, The Christopher Ewart-Biggs Memorial Prize 2018-2019, and the International Dublin Literary Award in 2020. Anna Burns lives in East Sussex.

Image credit: Eleni-Stefanou