Gwendoline Riley

b. 1979

Gwendoline Riley was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2018.

Gwendoline Riley was born in London in 1979. She is the author of five novels: Cold Water (2002), Sick Notes (2004), Joshua Spassky (2007), Opposed Positions (2012), and First Love (2017). Cold Water won a Betty Trask Award; Joshua Spassky won the 2008 Somerset Maugham Award and was shortlisted for the 2007 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. First Love was shortlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Goldsmiths Prize, the Gordon Burn Prize, the International Dylan Thomas Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize.

Image credit: Adrian Lourie/Writer Pictures