Irenosen Okojie

Irenosen Okojie was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2018.

Irenosen Okojie is a Nigerian British writer. Her debut novel, Butterfly Fish, won a Betty Trask Award. Her short stories have been published internationally, including in Salt’s Best British Short Stories 2017, Kwani? and The Year’s Best Weird Fiction. She was presented by Ben Okri at the London Short Story Festival as a dynamic writing talent to watch, and featured in ES Magazine as one of London’s exciting new authors. Her short-story collection Speak Gigantular was shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize, the Jhalak Prize and the Saboteur Awards, and nominated for a Shirley Jackson Award.

Visit website

Follow on Twitter

News stories relating to Irenosen Okojie

V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize 2018 – winner announced


The Royal Society of Literature is delighted to announce the winner of the V.S. Pritchett Short Story Prize 2018 is Emily Ruth Ford for ‘Please Be Good To Me’. She is the first writer to win the V.S. Pritchett Prize twice – she came first last year wit …

Read the article

Articles by Irenosen Okojie

On the Same Page: Nadifa Mohamed and Irenosen Okojie

Part of Bare Lit Festival

Read the article

Tall Tales, Short Stories – Highly Commended, Ben Woodward

Ben Woodward, aged 15

Read the article

Fable, Folklore, Fiction

Joanne Harris, Fiona Mozley, Irenosen Okojie and Janina Ramirez discuss how myth, legend, fable and folklore have influenced their work, and how great works of literature from the roots of our cultures can be reimagined for the modern reader.

Read the article