Michael Codron

b. 1930

Michael Codron was elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2019.

Concentrating largely on new British writers and plays, Sir Michael Codron has produced over one hundred and fifty West End plays. He has been the principal producer and usually the original and only producer of the work of a number of writers. These include Alan Ayckbourn, Alan Bennett, Michael Frayn, Simon Gray, Christopher Hampton, Frank Marcus, John Mortimer, Joe Orton, Harold Pinter and Tom Stoppard. He is administrator of the Aldwych Theatre and in 1993 was a Cameron Mackintosh Professor of Contemporary Theatre at Oxford. He is a graduate of Worcester College, Oxford, and was made an Honorary Fellow in 2012. He was appointed CBE in August 1989 and was knighted in 2014.