Sarah Perry

Sarah Perry was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2018.

Sarah Perry’s first novel, After Me Comes the Flood, was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award and the Folio Prize, and won the East Anglian Book of the Year Award in 2014. Her second, The Essex Serpent, was Waterstones Book of the Year 2016 and the British Book Awards Book of the Year 2017. It was shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award, the Encore Award and the Dylan Thomas Prize, and longlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and the Wellcome Prize. Her third novel, Melmoth, will be published in October 2018.

Visit website

Articles by Sarah Perry

Modern Gothic

Sarah Perry and Kate Mosse discuss the distinct appeal of the Gothic genre.

Read the article