Stuart Proffitt

Stuart Proffitt was elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2019.

Stuart Proffitt is a book editor and publisher, first at HarperCollins (1983-1998) and since then at Penguin. In 1999 he founded the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-fiction (now the Baillie Gifford Prize) and in 2014 he was awarded the London Library ‘Life in Literature’ Prize. He currently serves as a Trustee of the Scott Trust, owner of the Guardian and Observer newspapers.